Past Seminars

Thursday November 15, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
The Route Towards Graphene Composites
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 8, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Sparse Structural System Identification of Nonlinear Systems
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday November 7, 2018 10:00 AM
Thursday November 1, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Recovery of Function in Major Spinal Cord Injury using Spinal Stimulatio
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday October 31, 2018 8:00 PM
Earnest C. Watson Lecture Series
Location: Beckman Auditorium
Tuesday October 30, 2018 6:00 PM
Thursday October 25, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Some Recent Developments in Simulation of Stochastic Processes and Fields
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 18, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Extreme Events in Complex Dynamical Systems: Prediction and Statistical Quantification
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 11, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Starting Robotic Industry on the Moon and Mars
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 4, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Mechanics and Chemistry in Designing Polymers
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday September 20, 2018 6:00 PM
Location: Dabney Hall, Lounge
Wednesday September 19, 2018 12:00 PM
Tuesday September 11, 2018 9:30 AM
Location: Noyes 153 (J. Holmes Sturdivant Lecture Hall)
Thursday September 6, 2018 2:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Controlling the buckling behavior of bilayered systemsFast Adaptive Augmented Lagrangian Digital Image Correlation
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday August 10, 2018 2:30 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Controlling the buckling behavior of bilayered systems
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Wednesday June 20, 2018 10:30 AM
Thursday May 31, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Design and Fabrication of Compliant Structures, Mechanisms, and Materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday May 25, 2018 1:30 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Improving Seismic Collapse Risk Assessments of Steel Moment Frame Buildings
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday May 24, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Has Performance Based Engineering Broken the Power Law?”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 17, 2018 4:00 PM
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday May 15, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday May 10, 2018 2:30 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Modeling of Nucleation and Dynamic Rupture on Heterogeneous Frictional Interfaces with Applications to Foreshocks
Location: South Mudd 365
Thursday May 10, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Avian Inspired Design"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday May 9, 2018 2:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Observations of Failure Phenomena in Periodic Media
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Tuesday May 8, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Friday May 4, 2018 9:00 AM
Thursday May 3, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Answering a Qualifying Exam Question"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday May 1, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday April 26, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Sequential Mechanical Metamaterials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday April 24, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday April 19, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Programming dynamic behaviors in molecular systems and materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday April 17, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Friday April 13, 2018 3:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Thermal transport in three-dimensional nanoarchitected materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 12, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Mechanics-Guided, Deterministic 3D Assembly”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 5, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Mechanics, Manufacture, and Validation for Electronic Tattoos”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 15, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Structures as Sensors: Indirect Monitoring of Humans and Surrounding Through Structural Vibrations
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday March 12, 2018 7:00 PM
Location: Jorgensen Lobby
Thursday March 8, 2018 4:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Mathematics and Learning for Agile and Dynamic Bipedal Locomotion”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 8, 2018 11:00 AM
Location: Beckman Mall
Monday March 5, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Hybrid Dynamical Systems for Robust Control, Optimization, and Learning in Societal Systems
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday March 2, 2018 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Stimulus-Response Behavior of Liquid Crystal Elastomers and Gels
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday March 1, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Folding gels and shells: Geometric design principles for reconfigurable materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday February 27, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Tackling Infrastructure Resiliency through Structural Modeling and Mechanics
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday February 23, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Flexible water supply infrastructure planning under uncertainty: Learning and adapting for resilience
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 22, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Coastal Risks in the Oil and Gas Industry: Vulnerability of Storage Tanks to Severe Storms”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday February 21, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Toward a Resilient 21st Century
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 15, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Smaller Than the Eye Can See: Vibration Analysis with Video Cameras
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 8, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Topological Mechanics of Critically Coordinated Lattices"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday February 7, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Machine Learning and Big Data Analytics Enabled Integrity Assessment of Urban Buildings
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 1, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Personalized model of kinematic and dynamic of physical activities”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135